Foster Creek Conservation District
Foster Creek Conservation District

Douglas County Cooperative Weed Management Area 

MISSION: “To improve invasive weed species management county-wide through increased communication, coordination, and the sharing of technical expertise and knowledge between landowners, natural resource managers, and all interested parties. To seek funding to improve and implement on-the-ground weed management projects."


Next Steering Committee Meeting:

Due to concerns regarding COVID-19, the next Steering Committee Meeting will be a series of conference calls taking place on:


Tuesday, April 22nd, 2020 at 1:00pm


Wednesday, April 23rd, 2020 at 1:00pm


Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 at 1:00pm


The public is welcome and encouraged to join and participate! For Call-In instructions, please contact Ryan Lefler at (509) 423-5990


WSU Extension Publishes Guide to Puncturevine

Douglas County WSU Extension Agronomy Educator and CWMA Steering Committee Member Dale Whaley recently published a guide to puncturvine identification and control. Download it for free here:

Flowering Rush On Notice in the Wenatchee World

Steering Committee Member and WSU Master Gardener Bonnie Orr recently published an article on a Class A noxious weed discovered in Douglas County:

Douglas County CWMA Completes a Strategic Plan

Douglas County CWMA Comprehensive Strategic Weed Management Plan
The Douglas County CWMA Comprehensive Strategic Weed Management Plan is complete. This plan lays out the CWMA organizational goals and an approach to meet those goals. This plan will be accompanied by Annual Operating Plan in the future.
Adobe Acrobat document [2.8 MB]
Noxious Weed Blooming Calendar
Click here to see a table depicting the months in which selected noxious weeds will most likely be blooming. Data is sourced from the University of Washington Burke Herbarium.
Noxious Weed Blooming Calendar.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [516.7 KB]

What is a Cooperative Weed Management Area (CWMA)?

The Center for Invasive Species Management defines a CWMA as, "a partnership of federal, state, and local government agencies, tribes, individuals, and various interested groups that manage invasive weeds within a defined area."


All CWMA's share six basic characteristics: 

  • CWMAs operate within a defined geographic area, distinguished by a common geography, weed problem, community, climate, political boundary, or land use.
  • CWMAs involve a broad cross-section of landowners and natural resource managers within its defined boundaries.
  • CWMAs are governed by a Steering Committee.
  • CWMAs make a long-term commitment to cooperation, usually through a formal agreement among partners.
  • CWMAs have a comprehensive plan that addresses the management or prevention of invasive species within its boundaries.
  • CWMAs facilitate cooperation and coordination across jurisdictional boundaries.


Ryan Lefler, Natural Resource Specialist


Print Print | Sitemap
Foster Creek Conservation District 203 S Rainier Waterville, WA 98858 509-888-6372 © Foster Creek CD