Foster Creek Conservation District
Foster Creek Conservation District

Douglas County VSP

27 counties across Washington, including Douglas County, are enrolled in the Voluntary Stewardship Program (VSP). Founded in 2011, VSP gives counties the option to develop locally led work plans to protect "critical areas" and viable agriculture.

VSP volunteers help plant riparian areas along Foster Creek.

The five critical areas under VSP are:

  • Fish and wildlife habitat
  • Wetlands
  • Geologically hazardous areas
  • Frequently flooded areas
  • Aquifer recharge areas

In Douglas County, VSP is an alternative to regulatory enforcement under Washinton State's Growth Management Act (GMA). VSP aims to preserve local critical areas while ensuring the well-being of farmland and our farming culture.

Print | Sitemap
Foster Creek Conservation District 203 S Rainier Waterville, WA 98858 509-888-6372 © Foster Creek CD